top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJ. Danielle

Nothing Else Matters


One thing a lot of people don’t know about me is that this girly girl is a jock at heart. Growing up, I was a HUGE basketball fan. I played ball in my driveway, the neighborhood, at my school and AAU during the summer. I loved the NBA, my bedroom walls were covered with pictures of NBA players, torn from the popular basketball magazine SLAM. I could truly relate to Ball is Life.


I cried, I mean boo-hooed about the loss of Kobe, his beautiful daughter and the 7 people who lost their lives in that tragic helicopter accident. I have to be honest, I wasn’t a huge Kobe Bryant fan. How could I be when he was single handily and constantly beating the teams I was rooting for! But, I always respected him as one of the greatest athletes to ever play the game of basketball. I respected his work ethic, killer instinct, drive and tenacity.


Some people on social media are shaming others for feeling some type of way about the loss of Kobe and his daughter, simply because we didn’t know them personally. You don’t have to personally know someone to show human compassion and have empathy. Compassion for all of the families whose lives honestly will never feel “normal” again. Compassion for the NBA and the game basketball, who lost one of their most prolific players. Empathy for his fans, as we have lost one of the greats who we admired and respected so highly.


I feel for the city of LA. Kobe’s name was synonymous with the city, he bled purple and gold and did so much for the Lakers organization and the city as a whole. I’m from Akron, Ohio, hometown of Lebron James. So I feel like I can relate to how much a city can love and respect an athlete that has done so much for their city. If the tables were turned and it was our hometown hero who had fallen, I know for a fact we too would be devastated. Much love and respect to LA and all Lakers fans.


Like so many others, Kobe was a part of my life since my teen years. We watched him take Brandy to the prom, skip college and go to the NBA, flourish into an NBA all star and eventually become a NBA champion and legend. So even if we don’t know him, know him, we feel like we “know him".


Before I leave this earth, I want to have made an impact in somebody’s life. I endeavor to love on my family and friends and spend as much time with them as possible. I strive to live life to the fullest, because in the end, nothing else matters.


I am grateful to have watched and experienced Kobe’s greatness. From the dunks, fade-aways and game winners, I appreciate them all. Thank you for sharing your life with us Mr. Bryant. Your legacy lives on forever. #MambaForever


Special Note: My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the families affected by this tragic accident

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page